This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.
Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping 💮 Save 22% with code FLOWER 💮+ FREE Shipping for all US orders over $75!

Meditation, Chakras, and 108 Beads Explained

Meditation, Chakras, and 108 Beads Explained

Everyone always asks the question: Why are there 108 beads in a Mala?

Let's back up for a minute.

For those that practice meditation, we know how important it is to focus on our breathing. The breath or prana life force energy is what keeps us humans alive.

What happens when we breathe in air and speak? We create a sound.

What is sound? Sound is energy.

What happens to energy when put into the atmosphere? It travels through time and space in all different directions. Energy cannot be destroyed, but it can always be transformed, and it can be either positive or negative.

How is energy transformed? It is transformed through the 5 elements of Earth, Water, Air, Fire & Ether.

Everyone has 7 chakras in the human body along with many other outer chakras, but today we'll talk about the ones directly above and below.

Under our feet, going deep into the Earth is our Earth Star Chakra. This is where we imagine planting deep roots growing out of our feet and into the center of the planet during meditation or when grounding is needed.

Then we have the Root Chakra which is where we hold senses of security and survival, basic human needs.

Next is the Sacral Chakra where our sexuality, desires and creativity lie.

Here we get to the Solar Plexus Chakra, located in our navel which deals with our self worth and confidence.

A little further up is our Heart Chakra, where our feelings of love and nurturing abilities lie.

Then we come up to our Throat Chakra, which helps us to speak our truths and is our communication center.

Next is the Third Eye Chakra, where our intuition, inner voice guides us about people, places, situations and things.

At the top of our heads lie the Crown Chakra, where we are all able to connect to the divine, whether its been in dreams, messages, or angel numbers.

And lastly we have the Soul Star Chakra, which is above our head reaching up into the sky and is a direct line of communication to angels, higher beings, spirit guides and divine consciousness.

Now that we have all the basics covered, time to explain the meaning of 108 beads in a mala.

108 beads divided by 9 chakras = 12 sets of beads in a Mala

There are 8 Directions: N, S, E, W, NE, NW, SE & SW. Energy moves in all 8 directions of the human body.

There are 4 Physical Elements: Fire, Earth, Air & Water. Ether or space is not seen in the physical world. Energy is transformed through the 4 elements in the physical world.

The next time you are meditating with a 108 bead mala, remember for every 12 beads, you are becoming one with the universe, coaxing energy to move up 9 levels of chakras until the meditation is completed and you reach divine consciousness.

And there you have the Meaning of 108 Beads in a Mala. Happy Meditating!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published